Windows 7 on a Cr-48

She’s currently updating right now…

I came into possession of a second Cr-48 Chromebook yesterday (yes, be jealous) and decided to go ahead and try hacking that one with different operating systems.  First up was Windows 7 which would have fewer compatibility issues than Mac OSX.  Originally I was to use Hexxeh’s Luigi firmware to do the job, but he informed me earlier that he had taken it down.  A little Google searching later and I found an excellent alternative:

http://www.techjawa.com/

The guide to flashing the BIOS through the shell is on the main page.  Very easy and straightforward and even instructions for how to backup the existing BIOS (but not to copy, I had to go learn that one on my own).  So, with the critical step completed I reset the new BIOS settings and enabled USB booting…

Showing off her base circuits…
They’re like estranged brothers now.

The install went without any incidents and the former Chromebook is now running 77 updates including a much needed Synaptics Trackpad update.  I plan to see how well she runs for a couple weeks before performing the process again using a Mac OSX USB installer.  Stay tuned for impressions.  Have questions?  Shoot them to me in comments or on Twitter @bryson3gps

One thought on “Windows 7 on a Cr-48

  1. hello.. i am new here..
    i mistakenly bought anCR48 from ebay, didn’t know about Chromebook before. so, I managed to convert it into Windows 7, successfully..
    and then, I used Driver Pack Solution to upgrade the driver.
    During the process, suddenly the machine shut down. and after that it did not read the flash drive anymore,
    So, i used Killdisk the wipe the SSD and then re-install Windows 7.
    The problem, the cursor is stuck now, and does not move anymore if I use the touchpad.
    It reads the flash drive again, but the touch pad does not move the cursor arrow anymore.
    Please help me to fix this.

Leave a Reply

